Kuwait Government Closes Cinemas, Wedding Halls and Extends Class Suspension For Two More Weeks Due To COVID-19

An additional two weeks of class suspension has been imposed by the Kuwaiti Cabinet to help curb the spread of coronavirus.

According to reports, school holidays will be extended for two weeks until March 26. All theatres, cinemas, hotel meeting rooms and wedding halls will also be closed to prevent the spread of COVID-19. All entry permits and visas will also be monitored by authorities.

Meanwhile, MP Safa Al-Hashem sees to it that Kuwaitis are well protected against the spread of the virus by making urgent amendments when it comes to expatriates refusing to go through medical tests. If they refuse then they will be deported immediately.

The number of COVID-19 positive patients in Kuwait, as well as the rest of the Gulf region, majority of the infected persons in Kuwait, came from Iran. The Health Ministry confirmed that only a single case is confirmed to be in critical condition and the rest of patients are in stable condition two patients already recovered from the disease.

Meanwhile, the interior ministry said that they will be facilitating the renewal of work permits as well as residencies of employees even though they are still in another country to curb the spread of coronavirus. Employers must only get work permits coming from the Public Authority of Manpower as well as renew the residency at the Immigration Department, said Assistance Undersecretary for Residency Affairs Major General TalalMaarafi.

The Health Ministry announced yesterday the three quarantine categories based on the countries where they came from.

The first category states that people coming from China, Iraq, Hong Kong, Iran, South Korea, Iraq, and Italy must undergo a 14 days compulsory quarantine inside quarantine centers set up by the government.

Meanwhile, the second category requires a compulsory 14-day home quarantine of people from Syria, Azerbaijan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Thailand, Egypt, Singapore, India, Lebanon, Japan, and the Philippines.

The third category is non-compulsory quarantine for 14 days from people coming from Belgium, United States of America, France, United Kingdom, Germany, Switzerland, Netherlands, Sweden, Norway, and Spain

Related Posts

What Can You Say About This?


Add Comment